

Present:

Minutes of the meeting of the

Source Protection Authority

Date: April 18, 2019, at 3:30 pm

Location: Quinte Conservation - Joe Eberwein Board Room

2061 Old Highway 2

Belleville ON

Members Carrie Smith (Township of Madoc), Chris Malette (City of Belleville), Dale

Grant (Stirling and Rawdon Township), **Don Kuntze** (City of Quinte West), **Heather Lang** (Tyendinaga Township), **Henry Hogg** (Addington Highlands

Township), James Flieler (Municipality of Tweed), Janice Maynard (County of Prince Edward), John Hirsch (County of Prince Edward), John Wise (Stone Mills Township), Kate McNaughton (County of Prince Edward), Les Stanfield (County of Prince Edward), Norm Roberts (Township of South Frontenac), Ray

Hobson (County of Prince Edward), Ron Derry (Marmora and Lake

Municipality), Ronald Carroll (Tudor and Cashel Townships), Sean Kelly (City

of Belleville), Steven Everhardus (Town of Deseronto), Tom Livingston

(County of Prince Edward)

Members Jim Dunlop (County of Prince Edward), Mike Kerby (Centre Hastings

Absent: Municipality), Nicki Gowdy (Township of Central Frontenac), Paul Carr (City of

Belleville), **Ellen Johnson** (Town of Greater Napanee)

Also Present: **Brad McNevin** (CAO), **Amy Dickens** (Source Water Protection Coordinator),

Kirsten Geisler (Communications Specialist), Paul McCoy (Planning and

Regulations Manager), Sharlene Richardson (Regulations Officer) Max Christie

(Quinte Source Protection Committee Chair)

1. Call to Order

The Chair called the meeting to order at 5:25 pm.

a. Notice Regarding Cell Phones and Pagers

Cell phones and pagers are not permitted to be turned on during the meeting, except in an event of an emergency. If the device is to be left on, it must be announced at the beginning of the meeting.

b. Collection of Personal Information for Board Minutes

This is addressed to anyone that is not a board member and/or staff person of Quinte Conservation: Your name will be used in the board meeting minutes and the minutes will become public information after review and approval of the board. If you are present for a delegation or hearing, the context of your presentation will be recorded in the minutes of the board meeting.

2. Approval of the Agenda

There was no discussion.

MOTION SPA-19-11

Moved By: Steven Everhardus (Town of Deseronto)

Seconded By: Norm Roberts (Township of South Frontenac)

THAT, the Agenda for the Source Protection Authority meeting of April 18, 2019 be approved.

CARRIED

3. Chairs Announcement to Guests

There were no announcements

4. Disclosures of Pecuniary Interest

There were no Pecuniary Interests.

5. <u>Approval of the Minutes of the Source Protection Authority meeting of February 21, 2019</u>

There was no discussion.

MOTION SPA-19-12

Moved By: Ray Hobson (County of Prince Edward)
Seconded By: Steven Everhardus (Town of Deseronto)

THAT, the minutes from the Source Protection Authority meeting of February 21, 2019 be approved.

CARRIED

6. Annual Progress Report

Staff asked for a motion allowing staff to submit the report on behalf of the Authority.

MOTION SPA-19-13

Moved By: Ray Hobson (County of Prince Edward)
Seconded By: John Hirsch (County of Prince Edward)

THAT the Quinte Source Protection Authority receives this report and that staff submit the 2018 Annual Progress Report to the Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks by May 1st, 2019.

CARRIED

7. Risk Management Official/Inspector Appointment

Staff commented that the Authority has an existing regulations officer who is trained to do risk management.

MOTION SPA-19-14

Moved By: Steven Everhardus (Town of Deseronto)

Seconded By: Chris Malette (City of Belleville)

THAT, the Risk Management Official/Inspector appointment (namely, **Sharlene Richardson**) be approved.

CARRIED

8. In Camera Matter

- a) Move to In-Camera
- b) Source Protection Committee Member Replacements Discussion
- c) Move to close In-Camera
- d) Source Protection Committee Member Replacements

MOTION SPA-19-15

Moved By: Henry Hogg (Addington Highlands Township)

Seconded By: Ray Hobson (County of Prince Edward)

THAT, the meeting move to In-Camera.

CARRIED

MOTION SPA-19-16

Moved By: Chris Malette (City of Belleville)

Seconded By: Dale Grant (Stirling and Rawdon Township)

THAT, the meeting come out of In-Camera.

CARRIED

MOTION SPA-19-17

Moved By: Ray Hobson (County of Prince Edward)
Seconded By: Tom Livingston (County of Prince Edward)

THAT,

- Pat Culhane be appointed to the Group 2 (City of Belleville) municipal seat;
- Roger Cole be appointed to the Group 3 (Towns of Deseronto and Greater Napanee) municipal seat;
- Joanne Albert be reappointed to the Group 4 municipal seat;
- Gillian Ward be appointed to the General Public sector; and

THAT, these appointments be made for a term of 5 years.

CARRIED

9. Other Business

There was no other business.

10. Date, time and location of next meeting

At the call of the Chair

11. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 5:40 pm.

MOTION QC-19-18

Moved By: Norm Roberts (Township of South Frontenac)

Seconded By: James Flieler (Municipality of Tweed)

THAT, the Source Protection Authority meeting of April 18, 2019 be adjourned.

CARRIED

Max Christie, Chair